TWAS-Samira Omar Innovation for Sustainability Prize 2018 (Award of $4,000)

Deadline: May 31, 2018

The TWAS-Samira Omar Innovation for Sustainability Prize for 2018 is here and applicants are invited to can apply. The world is facing several challenges that are also threatening the existence of mankind such as climate change, food security, world population, water scarcity, biodiversity loss, energy resources and poor sanitation.

Sustainability is what will help the world to be stabilized and the  “Innovation for Sustainability” Prize has been set up to reward people/scientists for the support or contribution in the relevant areas that have sustained the earth. The 2018 prize theme is Plastic: Degradation, pollution and microplastics.

The Award

  • The winner is presented with a $4,000.


  • Applicants who live and are working in the listed Least Developed Countries are invited. These applicants must have lived in such area during the last two years prior to this nomination, and focused on their scientific achievements in Plastic: Degradation, pollution and microplastics;
  • Any age can apply.

Eligible Countries

Afghanistan, Angola, Bangladesh, Benin, Bhutan, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo, Dem. Rep., Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gambia, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Haiti, Kiribati, Lao PDR, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mozambique, Myanmar, Nepal, Niger, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Tanzania, Timor-Leste, Togo, Tuvalu, Uganda, Vanuatu, Yemen and Zambia


Click here to apply