2020 Commonwealth Master’s Scholarships for Developing Commonwealth Countries

Deadline: 30 Oct/20 Nov 2019

Place of Study: United Kingdom

Course Begins: Sept/Oct 2020

Description of Scholarship:

The Commonwealth Scholarships for Master’s study are offered to citizen of developing Commonwealth nations. The master’s degree in the United Kingdom is funded by the United Kingdom Department for International Development (DFID).

Scholarship University (s):

Applicants are expected to apply to study at any university in the United Kingdom which has a part funding partnership with the CSC. You need to know these universities before you can apply for the scholarship.

Level and Field(s) of study:

The masters degree programme falls under the following:

  • Access, inclusion and opportunity
  • Strengthening resilience and response to crises
  • Science and technology for development
  • Strengthening global peace, security and governance
  • Strengthening health systems and capacity
  • Promoting global prosperity

Number of Scholarships:

Not specified

Scholarship Target Group:

The applicant who is a citizen of or the person have been granted refugee status by an eligible Commonwealth country,

Scholarship value/inclusions:

When you are awarded the scholarship, you are provided with airfare to and from United Kingdom, examination fees, initial arrival allowance, tuition, stipend, and thesis grant (if applicable) , among others.


  1. If you must apply for these scholarships, you must:
  2. Be permanently resident in an eligible Commonwealth country
  3. Be unable to afford to study in the UK without this scholarship
  4. Be a citizen of or have been granted refugee status by an eligible Commonwealth country, or be a British Protected Person
  5. Be available to start your academic studies in the UK by the start of the UK academic year in September/October 2020
  6. By October 2020, you must hold a first degree of at least upper second class (2:1) honours standard, or a second class degree and a relevant postgraduate qualification (usually a Master’s degree). The CSC would not normally fund a second UK Master’s degree. If you are applying for a second UK Master’s degree, you will need to provide justification as to why you wish to undertake this study
  7. Have provided all supporting documentation in the required format



Your application must be made through either: national nominating agencies (this is the main route of application) or selected non-governmental organisations and charitable bodies. The CSC does not accept direct applications for these scholarships.

Each nominating body is responsible for its own selection process. You must check with your nominating body for their specific advice and rules for applying, their own eligibility criteria, and their own closing date for applications.

You must make your application using the CSC’s Electronic Application System (EAS), in addition to any other application form that you are required to complete by your nominating body.  The CSC will not accept any applications that are not submitted via the online application system.

All applications must be submitted by 16:00 (GMT) on 30 October 2019 at the latest and must include the supporting documentation (refer to the website) by 16:00 (GMT) on 20 November 2019.

It is important to read the 2020 Commonwealth Scholarship and Conditions and visit the official website (link found below) to access the EAS system and for detailed information on how to apply for this scholarship.

Apply here